Condensed Matter Physics Seminar Schedule -- Fall 1994

MSU P-A CMP Seminars are held in Room 224 of the Physics-Astronomy Building on the Michigan State University campus at 4:10 pm on Mondays of Fall and Spring Semesters. Refreshments are available at 3:50 pm.

Persons listed as "Host" may be contacted to arrange for meetings with non-local speakers (once their travel arrangements and such have been finalized).

12 September 1994
Speaker: Dr. Eric Fullerton, Argonne National Lab
Topic: Growth and Structural Characterization of Metallic Superlattices
Hosted by: William Pratt, pratt@msupa.pa.msu.edu
19 September 1994
Speaker: Dr. Stuart Field, University of Michigan
Topic: Superconducting Vortex Avalanches
Hosted by: Norman Birge, birge@msupa.pa.msu.edu
26 September 1994
Speaker: Dr. Constantin Tsallis, Michigan State University
Topic: Should the Entropy always be Extensive?
03 October 1994
Speaker: Dr. J. Tersoff, IBM Watson Lab
Topic: Predicting the Properties of Novel Carbon Fullerenes
Hosted by: Michael Thorpe, thorpe@msupa.pa.msu.edu
10 October 1994
Speaker: Dr. Carlos Duran, AT&T Bell Laboratories
Topic: to be announced
Hosted by: Norman Birge, birge@msupa.pa.msu.edu
17 October 1994
Speaker: Dr. Jacqueline Krim, Northeastern University
Topic: Quartz Crystal Microbalance Studies of Atomic Scale Friction
Hosted by: Roger Tobin, tobin@msupa.pa.msu.edu
24 October 1994
Speaker: Dr. Jayanth Banavar, Pennsylvania State University
Topic: Phase Transitions in Porous Media
Hosted by: S. D. Mahanti, mahanti@msupa.pa.msu.edu
31 October 1994
open
07 November 1994
Speaker: Dr. J. Harp, Ohio University
Topic: Spectroscopic Characterization of Novel Magnetic Materials (using MOKE, XMCD)
Hosted by: Peter Schroeder, schroeder@msupa.pa.msu.edu
14 November 1994
Speaker: Dr. T. Einstein, University of Maryland
Topic: Stepped Surfaces: Confronting Experiment with Theory
Hosted by: Phillip Duxbury, duxbury@msupa.pa.msu.edu
21 November 1994
Speaker: Dr. L. Glazman, University of Minnesota
Topic: Parity Effects in Mesoscopic Superconductors
Hosted by: Norman Birge, birge@msupa.pa.msu.edu
28 November 1994
open
05 December 1994
open
12 December 1994
open
19 December 1994
open
Back to MSU Physics-Astronomy Home Page
MSU Physics-Astronomy CMP Seminar Schedule page, created by George J. Perkins.
Updated 1994.09.12