List of Faculty

List of Physics and Astronomy Faculty
and Adjunct Professors

In addition to the tenure stream faculty listed below, a number of visiting professors, temporary faculty, research associates and postdoctoral fellows are in residence at any given time.


Maris A. Abolins, Ph.D., 1965, University of California, San Diego
Sam M. Austin, Ph.D., 1960, University of Wisconsin
Jack Bass, Ph.D., 1964, University of Illinois
Wolfgang Bauer, Ph.D., 1987, University of Giessen
Walter Benenson, Ph.D., 1962, University of Wisconsin
Martin Berz, Ph.D., 1986, University of Giessen
Simon Billinge, Ph.D., 1992, University of Pennsylvania
Norman O. Birge, Ph.D., 1986, University of Chicago
Henry G. Blosser, Ph.D., 1954, University of Virginia
Jerzy Borysowicz, Ph.D., 1965, Institute for Nuclear Research, Warsaw
Raymond L. Brock, Ph.D., 1980, Carnegie-Mellon University
Carl M. Bromberg, Ph.D., 1974, University of Rochester
B. Alex Brown, Ph.D., 1974, State University of New York, Stony Brook
Edward H. Carlson, Ph.D., 1959, Johns Hopkins University
Jerry A. Cowen, Ph.D., 1954, Michigan State University
Gerard M. Crawley, Ph.D., 1965, Princeton University
Pawel D. Danielewicz, Ph.D., 1981, University of Warsaw
Philip M. Duxbury, Ph.D., 1983, University of New South Wales
Mark Dykman, Ph.D., 1973, Kiev
Aaron I. Galonsky, Ph.D., 1964, University of Wisconsin
Claus Konrad Gelbke, Ph.D., 1973, University of Heidelberg
Thomas Glasmacher, Ph.D., 1992, Florida State University
Brage Golding, Ph.D., 1966, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Gregers Hansen, Ph.D., 1965, Copenhagen
Michael J. Harrison, Ph.D., 1960, University of Chicago
William M. Hartmann, Ph.D., 1965, Oxford University
Jack H. Hetherington, Ph.D., 1962, University of Illinois
Joey W. Huston, Ph.D., 1983, University of Rochester
Thomas A. Kaplan, Ph.D., 1954, University of Pennsylvania
Edwin Kashy, Ph.D., 1959, Rice University
Gabor Kemeny, Ph.D., 1962, New York University
Julius S. Kovacs, Ph.D., 1955, Indiana University
James T. Linnemann, Ph.D., 1978, Cornell University
Rong Liu, Ph.D., 1990, Iowa State University
William G. Lynch, Ph.D., 1980, University of Washington
Subhendra D. Mahanti, Ph.D., 1968, University of California, Riverside
Hugh McManus, Ph.D., 1947, Birmingham, England
Gerald L. Pollack, Ph.D., 1962, California Institute of Technology
Bernard G. Pope, Ph.D., 1971, Columbia University
Scott Pratt Ph.D., 1985, University of Minnesota
William P. Pratt, Jr., Ph.D., 1967, University of Minnesota
Jon C. Pumplin, Ph.D., 1968, University of Michigan
Wayne W. Repko, Ph.D., 1967, Wayne State University
Carl Schmidt, Ph.D., 1990, Harvard
Peter A. Schroeder, Ph.D., 1955, University of Bristol
Bradley M. Sherrill, Ph.D., 1985, Michigan State University
Peter S. Signell, Ph.D., 1958, University of Rochester
Daniel R. Stump, Ph.D., 1976, Massachusettes Institute of Technology
Stuart H. Tessmer, Ph.D., 1995, University of Illinois, Urbana
Michael R. Thoennessen, Ph.D., 1988, State University of New York, Stony Brook
Michael F. Thorpe, D. Phil., 1968, Oxford University
David Tomanek, Ph.D., 1983, Freie University, Berlin
Wu-Ki Tung, Ph.D., 1966, Yale University
Hendrik J. Weerts, Ph.D., 1981, University of Aachen
Gary D. Westfall, Ph.D., 1975, University of Texas, Austin
Richard York, Ph.D., 1976, Iowa State University
Chien-Peng (C.-P.) Yuan, Ph.D., 1988, University of Michigan
Vladimir Zelevinsky, Ph.D., 1974, Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics


Timothy C. Beers, Ph.D., 1983, Harvard University
Suzanne L. Hawley, Ph.D., 1989, University of Texas
Jeffrey R. Kuhn, Ph.D., 1981, Princeton University
Edwin D. Loh, Ph.D., 1977, Princeton University
Susan M. Simkin, Ph.D., 1967, University of Wisconsin
Horace A. Smith, Ph.D., 1980, Yale University
Robert F. Stein, Ph.D., 1965, Columbia University


Adjunct Professors may supervise Ph.D. students. Listed below are the Adjunct Professors, their institutional affiliation and their chief collaborator at Michigan State University.

Ed Berger, Argonne National Lab, (C.-P. Yuan)
Fred Bertrand, Oak Ridge National Lab, (K. Gelbke)
Gerald Blazey, Fermilab, (H. Weerts)
M. Demarteau, Fermilab, (R. Brock)
Albert Fert, University Paris at Orsay, (J. Bass)
Galen Fisher, GM Research and Development Center, (B. Golding)
William Friedman, University of Wisconsin, Madison, (K. Gelbke)
Denis Greig, University of Leeds, (W. Pratt)
Henry Holloway, Ford Research Lab, (P. Schroeder)
David Lambert, GM Research and Development, (B. Golding)
Jerry Nolen, Argonne National Lab, (K. Gelbke)
Stuart Solin, NEC Research Institute, (M. Thorpe)
Roger Tobin, Tufts University, (B. Golding)